Download the free new album now!

About ‘I Live On The Outside’

Joe’s new album I Live On The Outside was released for free on 1 December 2017.

This music started life as a year-long endeavor previously dubbed The Year Of Gear.  In January, Joe began writing songs based around his love of vintage effects pedals and released the footage of them being recorded in real time on YouTube on the 1st of every month.

But as is so often the case with these sorts of things, the project quickly began to evolve into a body of work deserving of a far more concrete title and official release.

All of the tracks have been remixed and remastered from their original YouTube versions and consist entirely of complete ‘takes’ of real guitar playing (no audio edits going on around here, thank you!)

Joe says: “As 2017 progressed, I realised I was approaching the ‘Year Of Gear’ songs with as much consideration to their running order and flow for the YouTube playlist as I was to writing standalone tracks – essentially, I was recording an album but hadn’t quite realised!  There are certainly themes and ideas pinning everything together that I’m only really aware of now it’s done.  In terms of my songwriting, I think this is my most accessible and honest record to date too – I think I’ve been focusing less on storytelling and much more on things that might be personal to me this particular year.

An organic-sounding album cooked up in Joe’s new home studio, I Live On The Outside has a sound born of the old-school recording traditions and is an entirely one-man-against-the-world affair – everything from the writing & engineering through to mixing, mastering and release has been tackled in-house.  As always with Joe’s releases too, the album will be available as both MP3 and WAV depending on your demands for audio quality.

Download your free copy of I Live On The Outside now!


  • 01 – Out Of Phase (video)
  • 02 – Pen & Paper (video)
  • 03 – Long Road To Recovery (video)
  • 04 – Hold It Down (video)
  • 05 – Like I Used To Do (video)
  • 06 – Monochrome Andalucía (video)
  • 07 – Revolution (video)
  • 08 – I Live On The Outside (video)
  • 09 – One Day, Far Away (video)
  • 10 – The Robot (video)
  • 11 – Another Day In Paradise (video)
  • 12 – Wish I Wuz A Wurzel (video)

Album Credits

All tracks written, engineered, produced, mixed & mastered by Joe Perkins
All instruments played by Joe Perkins.
Hold It Down contains drum loops used with the kind permission of Emily Dolan Davies.

Recording Videos